All-U.P., All-State H.S. Boys Tennis Teams Revealed

MARQUETTE---The Escanaba Eskymos, Marquette Redmen, and Negaunee Miners dominated the All-U.P. boys tennis teams, released on Monday.

The U.P. also had a couple of its top players put on the All-State team, despite the U.P. kids not being allowed to play against their downstate counterparts.
The Upper Peninsula Division One Player of the Year was Marquette's Nick Olivier. He was also named All-State in singles. Escanaba's Number One doubles team of Isaac Maki and Dawson Williams were named to the All-State team as well.

The All-U.P. Team included Negaunee's singles platers Luke Syrjala and Gavin Saunders, and Escanaba's singles players Nathan Howes and Gunner Dlugas.

As for doubles, the Escanaba team of Joe Hubert and Josep Montal, and the Negaunee duo of Jace Turri and James Thomson were both named to the All-U.P. FIrst Team.

The Eskymos won their second straight MHSAA Upper Peninsula championship this spring, with the Negaunee Miners taking second. Escanaba also took the Great Northern Conference title.

These selections were made by the U.P.'s tennis coaches.

The honorable mention list included Negaunee's Tyler Lajimodiere, Menominee's Brock Murphy, and the Negaunee doubles team of Gavin Downey and Bryce Storms, as well as the Kingsford doubles team of Isaac Nash and Ben Trevillian of Kingsford.